For 45 unopposed races in Florida, the election ended noon Friday

in Uncategorized by

November will come five months early for a handful of unopposed Florida lawmakers, as the end nears in the weeklong qualifying period for statewide races.

The official cutoff for candidates to pay qualifying fees for Florida House and Senate races ended on noon Friday. After that, the election is over for those incumbents who are running unopposed.

Barring any under-the-wire filings (or other unusual circumstances) of  the 140 state seats up for grabs, 45 incumbents — 30 Republicans and 15 Democrats — will win re-election without casting a vote, according to the state Division of Elections.

Unopposed races cover the entire state, as Fort Walton Beach Republican Rep. Matt Gaetz, House Majority Whip Dana Young and Rep. Jamie Grant from Tampa cruise to re-election on Friday. Naples Republican Reps. Kathleen Passidomo and Matt Hudson failed to attract any challengers  for HD 106 and HD 80, respectively. Fifteen Democrats also ended their races today, including Tampa’s Janet Cruz, Victor Manuel “Vic” Torres, Jr. of Orlando and Richard Stark, who represents the Weston area.

Update 3:45 p.m.: Grant faces write-in candidate Daniel Matthews, who has qualified in HD 64; Miriam Steinberg, Grant’s Republican primary opponent, is still listed as “active,” but not yet qualified.

Several high-profile Republican Senators have successfully warded off  competition: Aaron Bean in Fernandina Beach; Dorothy Hukill in the Orlando area; Wilton Simpson from Trilby; Bill Galvano, who represents a wide section of South Central Florida from Hillsborough to Charlotte and Glades Counties; and Nancy Detert, who also represents much of Sarasota and Charlotte Counties.

The full list of eight state Senators, all Republicans, who have not fielded a challenge in November:

  • SD 2       Evers, Greg
  • SD 4       Bean, Aaron
  • SD 8       Hukill, Dorothy
  • SD 18     Simpson, Wilton
  • SD 26     Galvano, Bill
  • SD 28     Detert, Nancy
  • SD 38     Garcia, Rene
  • SD 40     Diaz de la Portilla, Miguel

Fifteen House Democrats are running unopposed, who are (in essence) re-elected on noon Friday:

  • HD 13    Fullwood, Reggie (Fullwood, although paying his qualifying fee on June 19, also has not been listed as qualified as of noon Friday, leaving that race up in the air)
  • HD 14    Jones, Mia
  • HD 20    Watson Jr., Clovis
  • HD 45    Bracy, Randolph
  • HD 48    Torres Jr., Victor
  • HD 62    Cruz, Janet
  • HD 87    Kerner, Dave
  • HD 90    Berman, Lori
  • HD 91    Slosberg, Irving “Irv”
  • HD 97    Moskowitz, Jared Evan
  • HD 98    Edwards, Katie
  • HD 101  Jones, Shevrin
  • HD 102  Pritchett, Sharon
  • HD 104  Stark, Richard “Rick”
  • HD 109  Stafford, Cynthia

November is also coming early for 22 House Republicans:

  • HD 4       Gaetz, Matt
  • HD 7       Beshears, Halsey
  • HD 19    Van Zant, Charles
  • HD 22    Stone, Charlie
  • HD 23    Baxley, Dennis
  • HD 24    Hutson, Travis
  • HD 32    Metz, Larry
  • HD 33    O’Toole, H. Marlene
  • HD 34    Smith, Jimmie
  • HD 37    Corcoran, Richard
  • HD 52    Workman, Ritch
  • HD 55    Pigman, Cary
  • HD 56    Albritton, Ben
  • HD 57   Raburn, Jake
  • HD 60   Young, Dana
  • HD 71    Boyd, Jim
  • HD 73    Steube, Greg
  • HD 80    Hudson, Matt
  • HD 83    Harrell, Gayle
  • HD 85    Rooney Jr., Patrick
  • HD 106  Passidomo, Kathleen

Members with only No Party Affiliation (NPA), Libertarian (LPF) or Write-In (WRI) opposition, include:

State Senate

  • SD 10   Simmons, David Simmons (R)
  • SD 14   Soto, Darren Soto (D)
  • SD 24  Lee, Tom (R)

State House 

  • HD 10   Porter, Elizabeth Whiddon (R)
  • HD 17   Renuart, Ronald “Doc” (R)
  • HD 18   Cummings, Travis (R)
  • HD 46   Antone, Bruce (D)
  • HD 58   Raulerson, Daniel (R)
  • HD 64   Grant, James Grant (R)
  • HD 70   Rouson, Darryl (D)
  • HD 75   Roberson, Ken (R)
  • HD 78   Fitzenhagen, Heather (R)
  • HD 88   Powell, Bobby Powell (D)
  • HD 95   Rogers, Hazelle (D)
  • HD 110 Oliva, Jose (R)

Updates: 2:45 p.m.

In HD 99, former State Rep. Evan Jenne has qualified to run for the House District 99 seat held by term-limited Democrat Elaine Schwartz. The Dania Beach Democrat was redistricted out of his House District 100 seat in 2012 — two years before term limits — and since has made an unsuccessful bid for the Broward County Commission. His opponent, Democrat Elaine Geller, a small business owner, has not yet qualified as of 2:30 p.m. on Friday, according to the Division of Elections website. If she fails to qualify, Jenne will be the only 2014 candidate to run without opposition for an open seat.

Key Largo Republican Rep. Holly Raschein is also facing a challenger that may have failed to qualify as of the noon Friday deadline. Community leader Pamela Gray is still listed as “active” on the DOE website for House District 120, which covers Monroe County and the Florida Keys, as well as Florida City, Marathon and Key Largo.

Update: 3:30 p.m.

Grey did not qualify in HD 120, leaving Raschein unopposed and the de facto winner in the race. Geller also failed to qualify in HD 99, and Jenne becomes the unopposed victor.

Phil Ammann is a St. Petersburg-based journalist and blogger. With more than three decades of writing, editing and management experience, Phil produced material for both print and online, in addition to founding His broad range includes covering news, local government and culture reviews for, technical articles and profiles for BetterRVing Magazine and advice columns for a metaphysical website, among others. Phil has served as a contributor and production manager for SaintPetersBlog since 2013. He lives in St. Pete with his wife, visual artist Margaret Juul and can be reached at and on Twitter @PhilAmmann.