Over 600 people attend Hillsborough County Political Hob-Nob

in The Bay and the 'Burg/Top Headlines by

The Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce held their 2016 Political Hob Nob at the Hilton Tampa Downtown Monday evening. Fifty-two candidates running in Hillsborough County mingled and met with over several hundred members of the public, which in this case, were generally members of the business and political elite in Tampa.

Here were the winners of the straw poll, announced at 6:30 p.m.

President — Hillary Clinton

U.S. Senate — Marco Rubio

U.S. House District 12 — Gus Bilirakis

U.S. House District 14 — Kathy Castor

U.S. House District 15 — Dennis Ross

U.S. House District 16 — Vern Buchanan

Hillsborough County State Attorney — Mark Ober

State Senate District 18 — Dana Young

State Senate District 19 — Ed Narain

House District 58 — Dan Raulerson

House District 59 — Ross Spano

House District 60 — David Singer

House District 61 — Sean Shaw

House District 63 — Shawn Harrison

House District 70 — Cory Fornier

Clerk of the Circuit Court — Eric Seidel

Property Appraiser — Bob Henriquez

County Commission District 1 — Sandy Murman

County Commission District 6 — Tim Schock

School Board District 1 — Susan Valdes

School Board District 3 — Cindy Stuart

School Board District 7 — Stanley Gray

Tampa City Council District 7 — Luis Viera

Amendment One — Yes

Amendment Two -Yes

Amendment Three — Yes

Amendment Four — Yes

Amendment Five — Yes

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served as five years as the political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. He also was the assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley. He's a San Francisco native who has now lived in Tampa for 15 years and can be reached at mitch.perry@floridapolitics.com.