Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Bobby Jindal to be on Florida GOP ballot for president next year, but not George Pataki

in 2017/Top Headlines by

Republican Party of Florida Chairman Blaise Ingoglia delivered a letter to Secretary of State Ken Detzner on Monday with a list of 14 GOP presidential candidates who have qualified to be on the Florida presidential preference primary next March.

The letter lists Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Ted Cruz, Carly Fiorina, Jim Gilmore, Lindsey Graham, Mike Huckabee, Bobby Jindal, John Kasich, Rand Paul (shown in photo signing forms in Orlando two weeks ago at the Sunshine Summit putting his name on the ballot), Marco Rubio, Rick Santorum and Donald Trump.

Jindal dropped out of the race on November 17, but his name will remain on the ballot.

The only Republican candidate who is (allegedly) still in the race who will not be on the ballot is former New York Governor George Pataki, who failed to qualify on the ballot.

The RPOF’s executive committee voted in late September that GOP candidates for president could qualify for the March 15 presidential primary in Florida by doing one of three things: Get at least 125 signatures in each of the 27 congressional districts, pay $25,000 as a qualifying fee — or attend the party’s Sunshine Summit in mid-November.

All of those candidates, save for Pataki, took up the third option, and attended the two-day event in Orlando earlier this month.

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served as five years as the political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. He also was the assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley. He's a San Francisco native who has now lived in Tampa for 15 years and can be reached at

Latest from 2017

Go to Top