Brackets are set for TallyMadness; voting begins tomorrow!

in Uncategorized by

SaintPetersBlog is excited to announce the return of TallyMadness – an online voting competition to determine who is the “best” lobbyist in Florida.

Obamamare. A controversial effort to “reform” the education system by instituting a “parental trigger.” Proposals to reform the election system.  These are but three of the dozens of earth-shattering important issues debated during the 2013 Legislation Session.

Who cares!?!

The Legislative Session is also about the the tangential and the trivial, but it’s the tangential and trivial which drives the state capital.

Just like college basketball fans who fill out their brackets as part of “March Madness”, political aficionados in the capital and beyond can vote on a series of bracketed match-ups pitting Florida’s top lobbyists against each other.

The selection committee has seeded the top lobbyists, 1 through 64. Voters can visit and select the winner of each match-up, with first round voting beginning Tuesday, March 18.

1s vs. 16s: Nick Iarossi vs. Carlos Cruz; Brian Ballard vs. Marc Reichelderfer; Ron Book vs. Donna Simmons; Charley Dudley vs. Guy Spearman

2s vs. 15s: Chris Dudley vs. Slater Bayliss; Jon Johnson vs. Keyna Cory; Al Cardenas vs. Adam Babington; Bill Rubin vs. Monica Rodriguez

3s vs. 14s: Robert Coker vs. Teye Reeves; David Ramba vs Chris Moya; Ron Laface vs. Patrick Bell; Joe York vs Chris Flack

4s vs 13s: Michael Corcoran vs. Missy Timmins; Katherine Webb vs. Mercer Fearington; Rich Heffley vs. Dave Ericks; Claudia Davant vs. Hayden Dempsey

5s. vs 12s: Tracey Mayernick vs. Scott Ross; Jim Daughton vs. Richard Coates; Gus Corbella vs. Lori Killinger; Mark Delegal vs. Marc Dunbar

6s vs. 11s: Steve Metz vs. Mike Hightower; Fred Karlinsky vs. Gary Guzzo; Travis Blanton vs. Jon Costello; Tim Meenan vs. David Browning

7s vs. 10s: Jeff Hartley vs. Sean Pittman; Rhett O’Doski vs. Towson Fraser; Jim Magill vs. Allison Carvajal; Will McKinley vs. Brecht Heuchan

8s. vs. 9s: Jennifer Green vs. Frank Mayernick; Matt Bryan vs. Gaston Cantens; Pete Dunbar vs. Marion Hammer; Clark Smith vs. Amy Christian


Over 286 lobbyists received votes from members of the Selection Committee. Earning a first place vote from a Selection Committee member was worth 64 points, a second place vote earned 63 points and so on.

Nick Iarossi was the clear #1 overall seed — nearly 100 points ahead of #2 overall seed Brian Ballad.


Each of the 6-seed versus 11-seed match-ups, such as Travis Blanton vs. Jon Costello look very competitive.  But even some of the #1 versus #16 match-ups, such as Brian Ballard vs. Marc Reichelderfer, could be interesting


#2 seed Al Cardenas versus #15 seed Adam Babington; #3 seed Robert Coker vs. #14 seed Teye Reeves


The winner of TallyMadness will not only claim the title of “best” lobbyist, but they’ll receive the Steve Madden Trophy in honor of a great man and the winner of the first TallyMadness contest.


Among those on the outside looking in who were very close to goin’ dancin’ were Gerald Wester, Kimberly Case, Jason Unger and David Custin.

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including,,, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. SaintPetersBlog has for three years running been ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.