Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Dozens of state lawmakers file to run for re-election in 2018

in Statewide by

They haven’t been sworn into office yet, but that isn’t stopping a few newly elected state lawmakers from thinking about 2018.

State elections records show about more than two dozen members of the state House and Senate filed have filed to run for re-election. Many of those lawmakers are incumbents who faced little-to-no opposition this cycle, while others just came off hard-fought battles to secure their spot in the Florida Legislature.

Incoming Reps. Jayer Williamson and Byron Donalds are among the new members who have already filed to run in 2018.

A Pace Republican, Williamson won his House District 3 race in the primary, defeating J. Hutson Walters 64 percent to 37 percent. Donalds, a Naples Republican, handily defeated Republican Joe Davidow in the Aug. 30 primary, 64 percent to 36 percent. Donalds only faced a write-in candidate in House District 80 in November.

State records show Reps. Colleen Burton, Dane Eagle, Katie Edwards, and Evan Jenne were also among the more than 20 members of the state House who filed to run in 2018.

In the Senate, records show incoming state Sens. Lauren Book, George Gainer, and Kathleen Passidomo have already filed to run. Book and Gainer won their seats unopposed, while Passidomo battled it out for her seat.

Passidomo faced Rep. Matt Hudson in Senate District 28. She defeated the Naples Republican and outgoing House speaker pro tempore, 58 percent to 43 percent.

Election Day is on Nov. 6 in 2018. That’s 718 days away, in case you’re keeping track.

Latest from Statewide

Go to Top