Elections end Friday for handful of Tampa Bay state legislators

in Uncategorized by

A number of Tampa Bay legislative races will not actually be races, as the weeklong qualifying period for statewide elections ends on noon Friday, June 20. That is the official cutoff for candidates to pay qualifying fees for Florida House and Senate races.

Statewide, of the 140 seats up for grabs, there are, at first glance, 45 incumbents — 30 Republicans and 15 Democrats — who will win re-election without casting a vote, according to the Florida Division of Elections.

In the Tampa Bay area, Trilby Republican Sen. Wilton Simpson and Sen. Bill Galvano from Bradenton will be the only local Senators not facing opponents. Simpson will automatically win in District 18, for the area covering Hernando, parts of Pasco and Sumter Counties. Galvano will continue in District 26 — a vast swath of South Central Florida from Hillsborough to Charlotte and Glades Counties.

For a handful of House Republicans, the election cycle ends Friday.

Two-term House Majority Whip Dana Young will continue representing much of coastal Hillsborough County, including south Tampa and Davis Island. Rep. Jamie Grant will also remain in House District 64, for the region between Citrus Park in western Hillsborough and Safety Harbor in eastern Pinellas County.

Two-term Republican State Rep. Richard Corcoran remains in House District 37, which covers much of Pasco County. Rep. Dan Raulerson will also keep his House District 58 seat, for Plant City as well as parts of Temple Terrace and Thonotosassa.

Bradenton Republican Rep. Jim Boyd stays in House District 71, which covers parts of Manatee and Sarasota Counties, between Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island. In House District 52 will be Rep. Ritch Workman, the Melbourne Republican who chairs the House Finance and Tax Committee.

As for Tampa Bay Democrats, state Rep. Janet Cruz will remain in House District 62, which includes parts of Hillsborough County and much of the Town-N-Country neighborhood in Tampa.

Further south, Republican State Sen. Nancy Detert will win Senate District 28, the area covering Sarasota and part of Charlotte Counties. Naples Republican Reps. Kathleen Passidomo and Matt Hudson are also running unopposed for HD 106 and HD 80, respectively.

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including SaintPetersBlog.com, FloridaPolitics.com, ContextFlorida.com, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. SaintPetersBlog has for three years running been ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.