ICYMI: Brise, Graham re-appointed to the Public Service Commission

in Uncategorized by

Gov. Rick Scott on Friday kept the Florida Public Service Commission intact, reappointing commissioners Ronald Brise and Art Graham to four-year terms, according to Jim Saunders of the News Service of Florida.

Brise and Graham, whose current terms were set to expire in January, were selected over four other finalists. Brise serves as chairman of the utility-regulatory commission, while Graham is a past chairman.

Last September, Scott also reappointed Commissioner Lisa Edgar to the five-member panel. Commissioners make $130,036 a year, a salary that is expected to increase by $1,000 on Oct. 1, according to the state budget.

Brise and Graham were appointed to the commission in 2010 by former Gov. Charlie Crist and then were reappointed to their current terms by Scott, reports Jim Saunders of the News Service of Florida. Brise, 39, previously served as a state House member from Miami-Dade County, while Graham, 49, served on the Jacksonville City Council.

The new terms will begin Jan. 2 and end Jan. 1, 2018. The four other finalists included Ken Littlefield, a former House member who briefly served on the commission before Crist replaced him in 2007.

Brise and Graham, along with other members of the commission, have grappled with a series of major issues during the past year. As an example, the Florida Supreme Court heard arguments Thursday in a challenge to the commission’s approval late last year of base-rate increases for Florida Power & Light.

Also, the commission has dealt with a controversy about a damaged nuclear plant in Crystal River — a plant that Duke Energy Florida ultimately decided to permanently shut down. Commissioners also have considered base-rate cases for Gulf Power Co. and Tampa Electric Co., approving a settlement agreement this month in the Tampa Electric case.