Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Kathryn Starkey endorsed by Florida Medical Association and local doctors

in The Bay and the 'Burg by

Kathryn Starkey is honored to receive endorsements for her campaign for Florida House of Representatives, District 45 from the Florida Medical Association and a large group of distinguished local area doctors.

FMA President-Elect and PAC President Madelyn Butler, M.D. said “We are proud to stand behind those candidates who share our mission of protecting patients’ access to care… candidates who will truly champion our priorities.”

Robert J. Entel, M.D., past president Pinellas County Medical Association and past president of the Florida Radiological Society, stated in a letter to colleagues:  “Government has a tremendous impact on the medical profession. Here in Florida we face challenges brought about by lower government reimbursements for our services, medical malpractice issues made more difficult by statutes influenced by trial lawyers, and contracts written to favor insurance companies.

Many of these issues are addressed in the Florida Legislature. That’s why it is so important to vote for and support candidates who realize what a tough job we have and are committed to finding solutions for the problems we face.

One such candidate is Kathryn Starkey. Kathryn is a long-time resident of our area and a businesswoman who is running for the Florida House of Representatives, District 45.”

The Florida Medical Association PAC and Dr. Entel are proudly joined in supporting Kathryn Starkey by :

Dr. Kathleen Allen Dr. Theodore Aylward Dr. Russell Bain
Dr. Raymond Behar Dr. Mark Benjamin Dr. Elizabeth Coachman
Dr. Barry Cohen Dr. Maria Colon Dr. Jeffrey Davis
Dr. Dana Deupree Dr. Stephen F. Dickey Dr. John S. Fisher
Dr. Theodore Fotopoulos Dr. Forbes Garland Dr. Richard Ghavami
Dr. James Gills Dr. Pit Gills Dr. Stephen A. Goldman
Dr. Rob Hammel Dr. Ronald Hayter Dr. Vincent  Kiesel
Dr. Alan Klibanoff Dr. Jaime Kratz Dr. Bruce Landon
Dr. Robert Lankford Dr. Richard Miller Dr. David M. Mokotoff
Dr. Jose Pascual Dr. Girish Patel Dr. Michael Perry
Dr. Andrew Rackstein Dr. K. Ravi Dr. Nancy Robbin
Dr. Peter Rossi Dr. James Sanderson Dr. Jose R. Santana
Dr. Fred  Slone Dr. Robert L. Smith Dr. Maria Cristina Soto-Aguilar
Dr. Frederick L. Stone Dr. Arnie Tannenbaum Dr. Richard Ubillus

Kathryn has served in many capacities including:  Founding member and Past President, All Children’s Hospital Guild; Florida State Greenways and Trails Council, (Appointed by Senate President McKay, Reappointed by Governor Bush and Governor Crist);  Career Technical Education Foundation; Southwest Florida Water Management District, Pinellas-Anclote River Basin Board (Appointed twice by Governor Bush);  Citizens Advisory Council-Comprehensive Land Use Plan, Vice Chair District 4; Citizens Ordinance Review Committee, Pasco County; Citizens for Scenic Florida, Executive Board Member;  Suncoast Corridor Advocacy Group for Scenic Highway Designation, Vice Chair.

For more information please visit

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including,,, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. SaintPetersBlog has for three years running been ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.

Latest from The Bay and the 'Burg

Go to Top