A list of all the Tampa Bay area folks who won TV news Emmy Awards on Saturday night

in Uncategorized by

They held the news television Emmy Awards this past Saturday night in Pembroke Pines, and there were a lot of winners. That’s because they handed out awards in more than 50 categories at the 38th annual National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Suncoast Chapter Emmy Awards.

Since nobody else is going to do it, here’s a recap of all the folks who won from the Tampa Bay market, the state’s biggest media center. I hope I didn’t leave anybody out. Because there’s so many names I’m refraining from any editorial remarks. Here we go:

In Breaking News: On the “Dunedin Sinkhole,” ABC 28’s Laura Harris.

Continuing Coverage: WTSP’s Noah Pransky, Amy Marinec, Paul Thorson.

Arts/Entertainment – News Series – “On the Town” Bay News 9’s Virginia Johnson, Bobby Collins.

In Business/Consumer vision, “Consumer Wise Reports” by Bay News 9’s Angie Moreschi.

“How Much Does the Middleman Make” and “Behind The Scenes” Fox-13’s Chris Chmura & Robin Carter.

The Tampa Bay Times’ Alex Zayas & former Times reporter Letetia Stein worked with WFTS’ Adam Walser, Fran Gilpin, Doug Iten and Matt McGlashen to win for their report “Insult to Injury,” regarding trauma centers throughout the state.

In the Human Interests category, WEDU’s Kristine Kelly won for the show Arts Plus on the segment, “Heart Gallery of Tampa Bay.”

WTVT Fox 13’s political reporter, Craig Patrick, won an award, along with Charles Carter, for their story, “Investigating Government: Illegal tax credits.”

In sports coverage, WTSP’s channel 10’s Robert Lewis won for a story on deaf football player Tyler Cook.

WFTS’ Channel 28’s Andrew Luria won for a report, “News, Views and Miscues.”

Bay News 9’s team of Bridget Foster, Lindsay Brown and Al Ruechel won a weather Emmy for their coverage of a tornado in Riverview.

Radio personality Lynn Marvin Dingfelder along with Larry Wiezycki won for their 2013 documentary, “JFK in Tampa: The 50th Anniversary.”

WEDU’s Jeremy Peplow won for a special segment that told the story of Gwendolyn Powell who had just graduated from George Middleton High School in Tampa when she attended the March on Washington in 1963.

In the award category for promotions, Bay News 9’s Kelly Clore won for “Diver Testimonial.”

Winning for overall Station Excellence was ABC 28’s ABC’s Action News, with now ousted general manager Rich Pegram winning the award.

Fox 13’s Robin Carter won an Emmy for News Editing for “Behind The Scenes.”

Bay News 9’s Angie Moreschi won for on-camera consumer reporting.

Fox 13’s Craig Patrick also won for on-camera political reporting.

Alex Gazio with the Southwest Florida Water Management District won an Emmy for a video essay called “Springs Team.”

In the writing category, there were lots of Tampa Bay area TV talent winning awards:

Chris Chmura from Fox 13 won two awards: one  for “Imposters & Innovators,” and for “Behind the Scenes.”

Craig Patrick from Fox 13 won two awards: one for “Commentary: Editorial” and “Program Writing.”

Robert Lewis from WTSP in the non-news category for ”Twas the Night Before Kickoff.”

And last but not least, Jennifer Hopkins from All Childrens Hospital Johns Hopkins Medicine for “Straight from the Heart: Madeline’s Story.”

Mitch Perry has been a reporter with Extensive Enterprises since November of 2014. Previously, he served as five years as the political editor of the alternative newsweekly Creative Loafing. He also was the assistant news director with WMNF 88.5 FM in Tampa from 2000-2009, and currently hosts MidPoint, a weekly talk show, on WMNF on Thursday afternoons. He began his reporting career at KPFA radio in Berkeley. He's a San Francisco native who has now lived in Tampa for 15 years and can be reached at mitch.perry@floridapolitics.com.