More House races take shape for 2014

in Uncategorized by

Nine more incumbents and four potential legislative newcomers have filed paperwork during the past two weeks to run for House seats in 2014, according to the state Division of Elections website.

The incumbents are Rep. Elizabeth Porter in District 10; Rep. Mia Jones in District 14; Rep. Larry Metz in District 32; Rep. Jimmie Smith in District 34; Rep. Bruce Antone in District 46; Rep. Ben Albritton in District 56; Rep. James Grant in District 64; Rep. Barbara Watson in District 107; and Rep. Erik Fresen in District 114.

Non-incumbents filing paperwork were Lynn Haven Republican Melissa Hagan in District 6; Wesley Chapel Republican Christopher Scott Erwin in District 38; Tampa Democrat Tatiana Denson in District 61; and Tampa Republican Casey James Parente in District 62. Filing the paperwork, at least in part, allows candidates to raise money.

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including,,, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. SaintPetersBlog has for three years running been ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.