Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Nine appointments made to Gov. Rick Scott’s new healthcare, hospital commission

in Statewide/Top Headlines by

Gov. Rick Scott named nine people to the newly created healthcare and hospital board on Monday, steering clear of appointing anyone to the commission who is affiliated with a hospital.

One medical doctor serves on the commission.

Many of the commission members Scott appointed have made campaign contributions to Scott, the governor’s political committee, Let’s Get to Work, or to other Republican candidates, including Carlos Beruff, who will chair the commission.

Beruff, of Parrish, is a member of the South Florida Water Management District, the Sarasota Manatee Airport Authority and is the president of Medallion Homes Other committee appointments include:

Gen. Chip Diehl, of Tampa, is a retired brigadier general, U.S. Air Force, and is a member of the Florida Defense Support Task Force.

Marili Cancio Johnson, of Key Biscayne, is a member of the Miami-Dade College Board of Trustees and is the principal of Marili Cancio Johnson PA.

Tom Kuntz, of Winter Park, is a former executive at Suntrust Bank and a current member of the Florida Board of Governors. Mr. Kuntz will serve as vice chair of the commission.

Eugene Lamb, Jr., of Midway, served on the Gadsden County Board of County Commissioners from 2004-2012 and is a past chair of the Tallahassee Community College Board of Trustees.

Dr. Jason Rosenburg, of Gainesville, is a reconstructive microsurgeon and a former chair of the Florida Board of Medicine.

Dr. Ken Smith, of Estero, is the owner of Integrated Beef Consultants and a member of the Florida Gulf Coast University Board of Trustees.

Sam Seevers, of Destin, is a small business owner and a former mayor and City Council member of Destin.

Robert Spottswood, of Key West, is a certified public accountant and an attorney. He is the president and director of Spottswood Companies.

Scott said in a press release that Agency for Health Care Administration Secretary Liz Dudek and Department of Health Secretary John Armstrong will be the co-executive directors of the commission. One medical doctor serves on the commission.


Latest from Statewide

Go to Top