Now its Marion County objecting to Senate’s redistricting effort

in Uncategorized by

First it was Polk County, now its Marion County objecting to the second Senate redistricting map.

Unhappy about their county being split into three Senate districts, the Marion County Commission voted Tuesday to object to a new Senate reapportionment plan. The Ocala Star-Banner reported that the commission voted unanimously to send a letter or a legal brief to the Florida Supreme Court, which will review the plan. Marion County is currently divided into four Senate districts, with none of the senators living in the county. They are Sen. Charlie Dean, R-Inverness; Sen. Alan Hays, R-Umatilla; Sen. Evelyn Lynn, R-Ormond Beach; and Sen. Steve Oelrich, R-Cross Creek. The new map, which received final legislative approval last week, would split Marion into three districts. It would not have the largest amount of population in any of the three, according to the Star-Banner. “I think the citizens of Marion County … should have their own voice,” the newspaper quoted Commissioner Mike Amsden as saying.

Material from the News Service of Florida was used in this post.

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including,,, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. SaintPetersBlog has for three years running been ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.