Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Personnel note: SunTrust’s David Mann is Florida TaxWatch’s new chairman

in Statewide by

David Mann, an executive with SunTrust Bank, has assumed the chairmanship of FloridaTaxwatch, the government watchdog organization.

The transition came during TaxWatch’s board meeting on Nov. 17 and was announced Wednesday.

Former state Sen. Pat Neal of Neal Communities, a homebuilding company, became chairman-elect. Former U.S. Sen. George LeMieux, chairman of Gunster, is treasurer, and Piyush Patel, of Kyra Solutions Inc., an information technology company, is secretary.

Mann succeeds Michelle Robinson, vice president for government affairs for Verizon.

“I’m honored to work with all of the many volunteer leaders and partners in advancing our mission to provide the citizens of Florida and public officials with high quality, independent research and analysis,” Mann said.

Mann is regional commercial real estate banking executive for SunTrust.

TaxWatch announced a slate of new trustees. They are:

Frank Attkisson, of American Board; Jesse Panuccio, of Foley & Lardner; Eric Eikenberg, of the Everglades Foundation; Shane Strum, of Hollywood Memorial Healthcare Systems; Natalie King, of RSA Consulting; and Richard Berkowitz, of Berkowitz Pollack Brant Advisors and Accountants.

Also named trustees are Jay Townsend, of Booz Allen; Ed Canup, of Capital City Bank Group, Inc.; Robert Bacon, of the Earl Bacon Agency; Dhyana Ziegler, a member of Florida Commission on the Status of Women and a journalism professor at Florida A&M University; Keisha D. Rice, of Frank & Rice; and Charles E. Frazier Jr., of Gateway Investment Partners.

Rounding out the new trustees slate are Saransh “Sam” Sharma, of Gordium Healthcare Inc.; Samira Beckwith, of Hope Health Care; Amelia Maguire, of REA International; and Monique McCall, a singer who has written songs for Sen. Marco Rubio and Gov. Rick Scott.

Latest from Statewide

Go to Top