Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Pinellas sets swearing-in for constitutional officers

in The Bay and the 'Burg/Top Headlines by

Swearing-in of Pinellas County’s incoming constitutional officers will be Jan. 3.

The ceremony, which will be open to the public, will be at 5:30 p.m. in the historic Pinellas County Courthouse located at 324 S Fort Harrison Ave. in Clearwater. A reception in the courthouse lobby will follow the reception.

Two of the constitutional officers are being sworn in for the first time. They are Mike Twitty, who will succeed outgoing property appraiser Pam Dubov. Dubov is leaving to enter the ministry. The other newcomer is Charles W. Thomas who will take over the Pinellas County Tax Collector’s office from Diane Nelson, who is retiring.

The other four constitutional officers are returning: Bernie McCabe, state attorney; Bob Dillinger, public defender; Ken Burke, clerk of the circuit court and comptroller; and Deborah Clark, supervisor of elections.

Clark and Burke were re-elected without opposition this year.

Constitutional officers provide critical services for the residents of Pinellas County. As established by the Florida Constitution, they are elected every four years to serve at the will of the people.

Latest from The Bay and the 'Burg

Go to Top