Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Gov. Rick Scott announces 11 board appointments

in Statewide/Top Headlines by

On Friday, Gov. Rick Scott announced 11 appointments to a variety of state regulatory boards.

Diabetes Advisory Council

Scott named four to the Diabetes Advisory Council, which advises the state on diabetes prevention, diagnosis, education, care, treatment, impact, and costs.

Dr. Kimberly Reed, 50, of Davie, is a professor at Nova Southeastern University. She succeeds Dr. Rulx Ganthier Jr. for a term ending July 1, 2019.

Christel Marchand Aprigliano, 45, of Tampa, is the CEO of The Diabetes Collective nonprofit organization. She succeeds Brett Harding for a term ending July 1, 2016.

Donna Ryan, 57, of Pensacola, is the manager of the diabetes program at Sacred Heart Hospital. She succeeds Phyllis Bruno for a term ending July 1, 2019.

Elizabeth Cayson, 45, of Loxatchee, is a government relations specialist for the Health Care District of Palm Beach County. She fills a vacant seat for a term ending July 1, 2019.

Biomedical Research Advisory Council

Scott announced two appointments and one reappointment to the Biomedical Research Advisory Council, which supports the James and Esther King Biomedical Research Program to seek cures in tobacco-related diseases.

Dr. Paul Jacobsen, 60, of Tampa, is the associate director of the Division of Population Science for the Moffitt Cancer Center. His reappointment is for a term ending January 10, 2018.

Dr. David Decker, 67, of Winter Park, is a physician at Veterans Administration Hospital Orlando. His reappointment is for a term ending October 2, 2018.

Dr. Richard Nowakowski, 64, of Tallahassee, is a professor and the chair of Florida State University’s College of Medicine Department of Biomedical Sciences. He fills a vacant seat for a term ending January 10, 2018.

Florida Commission on the Status of Women

Scott reappointed Nancy Acevedo and Dame Dhyana Ziegler to the Florida Commission on the Status of Women, a 22-member board to study and make recommendations to the governor, Cabinet and Legislature on issues affecting women.

Acevedo, 66, of Winter Springs, is a crime analyst with the Seminole County Sheriff’s Office. Her reappointment is for a term ending September 30, 2019.

Ziegler, 66, of Tallahassee, is the Garth C. Reeves imminent scholar chair of journalism at the Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University. Her reappointment is for a term ending September 30, 2019.

Environmental Regulation Commission

Scott reappointed Adam Gelber and Dr. Joseph Joyce to the Environmental Regulation Commission, a seven-member board representing agriculture, developers, local governments, the environmental community, citizens, and members of the scientific and technical community.

The commission sets standards and rules that protect Floridians on scientific and technical guidelines, economic impacts, and risks and benefits to Florida’s natural resources, such as air pollution, water quality and waste management.

Gelber, 45, of Miami Beach, is a biologist with Atkins North America Inc. His reappointment is for a term ending July 1, 2019.

Joyce, 66, of Gainesville, is the director of UF-IFAS Center for Leadership. His reappointment is also for a term ending July 1, 2019.

Both appointments are subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate.

Phil Ammann is a St. Petersburg-based journalist and blogger. With more than three decades of writing, editing and management experience, Phil produced material for both print and online, in addition to founding His broad range includes covering news, local government and culture reviews for, technical articles and profiles for BetterRVing Magazine and advice columns for a metaphysical website, among others. Phil has served as a contributor and production manager for SaintPetersBlog since 2013. He lives in St. Pete with his wife, visual artist Margaret Juul and can be reached at and on Twitter @PhilAmmann.

Latest from Statewide

Go to Top