Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Safety Harbor draws full slate of candidates

in The Bay and the 'Burg/Top Headlines by

After qualifying closed Tuesday, eight candidates are vying for three seats on the Safety Harbor City Commission.

Running for mayor are Joe Ayoub and Janet Hooper. Ayoub is a former mayor who also served on the commission. He is facing Hooper, who is in her first term as a commissioner. She resigned from Seat 1 to run for mayor. Hooper’s resignation is effective March 21, the week after the election.

Four candidates are lining up to serve the remainder of Hooper’s term on the commission: Nancy J. Besore, Cameron Boozarjomehri, Damon Lister and Scott Long. Boozarjomehri originally was a candidate for Seat 4 but switched to Seat 1.

Incumbent Carlos Diaz is running for re-election to Seat 4. He’s being challenged by Luanne Lambert.

So far, Ayoub is the fundraising winner in the mayor’s race, raising $8,770 according to the latest financial reports ending Dec. 31. One of his contributors is newly elected Democratic state Rep. Ben Diamond, who donated $150.

Hooper raised $5,233 to date.

With $1,450, Long is the fundraising leader in the Seat 1 race. Among Long’s contributors is Neil Brickfield, who served on both the Pinellas County and Safety Harbor commissions.

Lister follows closely with $1,330. Boozarjomehri raised $50. No report was available for Besore, who did not open a campaign account until this month.

In the race for Seat 4, Diaz is ahead of Lambert with $200. Lambert raised $50.

The election is March 14.

Latest from The Bay and the 'Burg

Go to Top