Sens. Nancy Detert, Greg Evers among those filing this week for re-election

in Uncategorized by

Four incumbent senators and five House members filed papers during the past week as a first step toward running for re-election in 2014, according to the state Division of Elections website.

The senators were Greg Evers in District 2; Aaron Bean in District 4; Darren Soto in District 14; and Nancy Detert in District 28.

The incumbent House members preparing for re-election runs were Mike Clelland in District 29; Dan Raulerson in District 58; Mark Danish in District 63; Ray Pilon in District 72; and Manny Diaz, Jr. in District 103.

Also, two non-incumbents filed papers for House races. They were no-party candidate Ronald Gillis, of Murdock, in District 75; and Miami Republican Ambry Bodin in District 114.

Filing the papers, at least in part, allows candidates to raise money for the races.

Material from the News Service of Florida was used in this post.

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including,,, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. SaintPetersBlog has for three years running been ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.