Speaker Designate Steve Crisafulli announces leadership team

in Uncategorized by

Incoming House Speaker Steve Crisafulli has named his leadership team. The Merritt Island Republican will be installed as the House leader during a legislative reorganization session after the November election.

Crisafulli, Thursday, named Rep. Matt Hudson, R-Naples Speaker Pro Tempore and Rep. Dana Young, R-Tampa, as the House Majority Leader.

“Rep. Hudson has shown unfailing leadership in his role as chairman of the Health Care Appropriations Subcommittee,” Crisafulli said of Hudson in a prepared statement.

“He has tackled complex issues and has a willingness to fight for legislation that is n the best of all Floridians. He has served the House well and will be a great asset to me during this legislative term.

Senate President-Designate Andy Gardiner, R-Orlando, said Crisafulli is assembling a talented team of leaders.

“My colleague and I look forward to working with the Speaker-Designate and his team as we head towards the 2015 Legislative Session,” said Gardiner in a prepared statement released shortly after Crisafulli’s announcement.

Also tapped to be part of the House leadership structure are Rep. Ritch Workman, R-Melbourne, as chair of the Rules and Calendar Committee. Rep. Richard Corcoran, R-Trinity, will lead the Appropriations Committee.

Corcoran is expected to take over as House Speaker in November of 2016.

Crisafulli said the full committee structure will be released in the weeks after the Nov. 4 election.