Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Tag archive

Grieving Families Act

The 5 on 1: Five ‘most interesting’ laws taking effect July 1

in Statewide/Top Headlines by

Saturday is not only the first day of the state’s budget year, it’s also when a host of new laws go into effect. Here’s a capsule look at five of the more notable statutes taking effect July 1: — Religious expression in schools.  This new law clarifies that public school students can’t be punished for praying at school or incorporating “religious materials” into their classwork. Currently, students can pray before or after instructional time outside of the class room, on…

Keep Reading

Governor signs Grieving Families Act, plus four other bills, into law

in Statewide/Top Headlines by

Gov. Rick Scott signed five bills into law Wednesday, including legislation providing birth certificates in cases of miscarriage and punishing the desecration of graves. Scott did not explain his reasons in his transmission letter to the secretary of state. HB 101, the Grieving Families Act, would give parents the option of receiving a state-issued certificate if a pregnancy is lost between nine weeks and 20 weeks of gestation. The measure cleared the Senate unanimously and the House over one dissenting…

Keep Reading

Florida passes bill to issue certificates for miscarriages

in Statewide/Top Headlines by

Florida could become the first state to issue what’s essentially a birth certificate for women who’ve had miscarriages under a bill the Legislature sent to Gov. Rick Scott on Thursday. The Grieving Families Act would give parents the option of receiving a state-issued certificate if a pregnancy is lost between nine weeks and 20 weeks of gestation. “The parent can name the child if they have a gender or they can just name it Baby Smith,” said Republican Rep. Bob…

Keep Reading

Florida considers issuing certificates after miscarriages

in Statewide/Top Headlines by

Florida could begin issuing what’s essentially a fetal death certificate to women who’ve had miscarriages. The House voted 115-1 Wednesday for what’s called the “Grieving Families Act.” At a parent’s request, the state would issue “certificates of nonviable birth” to women whose pregnancies end after nine weeks and before 20 weeks of gestation. Pregnancies that end at 20 weeks or later are considered stillbirths and death certificates must be issued. Parents can also request a birth certificate in such cases.…

Keep Reading

Go to Top