U.S. Reps. Bilirakis and Castor re-elected without opposition

in Uncategorized by

With the end of qualifying for this fall’s congressional elections, Republicans Gus Bilirakis, Mario Diaz-Balart and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen and Democrat Kathy Castor cruised without opposition to another term in the U.S. House, according to the state Division of Elections website.

Qualifying ended at noon Friday, and all 26 incumbent House members signed up to seek re-election.

The state’s other district became vacant in January, when Southwest Florida Congressman Trey Radel resigned. A special election will be held in June to fill the Congressional District 19 seat.

Meanwhile Friday, former Republican Congressman David Rivera qualified to try to regain a South Florida seat he lost in 2012 to Democrat Joe Garcia.