Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

2009 Netroots Awards

in Statewide by

It’s that time of year again. The Florida Democratic Party Netroots Coalition is opening nominations for the best of the blogs and online activism. There are a few changes this year, but the process will largely be the same. Between now and the end of August, we’ll be taking nominations for the best writing, posting and online activism in the state of Florida amongst the left-wing blogs. The process is simple. Send me your nominations in the categories below. This is just the nomination period. All nominations that fit the category descriptions will be accepted. Any nominees that are in the wrong category will be moved to the right category. Keep in mind that all nominees have to be Florida-based and that they can’t be Republicans. Any posts, blogs, etc., that have appeared since last year’s awards are eligible for the awards.

There is no reason to nominate a site more than once, one nomination gets it in. Don’t get your friends to nominate your blog more than once, it doesn’t help and nominations don’t count as votes and they don’t carry over to the next round. Also, keep in mind that last year’s winners can’t be nominated or win in the same category this year. You can send me your nominations via e-mail or you can post them in the comments here.

After the nomination period is over, we will move to the first round of voting. All nominations will be included and we’ll set up the official survey voting software that will tally the votes officially. Any nominees that get 50%+ in the first round will be the winners for that category. If no nominee gets that percent of the vote, there will be a runoff with the highest vote getters. (Special rules apply to the hall of fame category, see below). The final winners in each category will be announced at the Democratic State Convention in October.

The categories with a basic description and last year’s winners are listed.

Here are the categories with a basic description and last year’s winners:

1. Best National Blog (Last year: Ranger Against War): Blogs written by Floridians that covers primarily national politics.

2. Best State Blog (Last year: Florida Progressive Coalition): Blogs about statewide politics in Florida.

3. Best Local Blog (Last year: St. Petersblog): Blogs about city/county/regional politics in the state of Florida.

4. Best Media Blog (Last year: Political Whore): Blogs written by professional journalists at Florida publications.

5. Best Professional Blog (Last year: The Gelber Blog): Blogs written by state or local political parties, candidates or party operatives in Florida.

6. Best Party Website (Last year: Florida Democrats): Best Florida-wide website associated with a political party or political party unit (such as a caucus or coalition).

7. Best Candidate Website (Last year: Dan Gelber): Anyone running for statewide or local office in Florida can win this one.

8. Best Local Party Website (Last year: Hillsborough County Democratic Party): This one is for Florida DECs, clubs or local chapters of statewide caucuses or coalitions.

9. Best Interest Group Website (Last year: Progressive Democrats of America/Florida Red & Blue): Any Florida-based nonparty activist, charitable or grassroots group. Last year there were two separate categories here — a professional and an amateur one. There wasn’t enough competition to fill both categories, so we combined them.

10. Best Writer (Last year: Kenneth Quinnell): Anyone whose writings is published at any of the above websites is eligible for this one. Winners should have one or more of the following qualities: good grammar and presentation, provides original reporting, has a good sense of humor, shows creativity, has a strong personal touch, or has an effect on the real world because of their writing

11. Netroots Candidate of the Year (Last year: Dan Gelber for State Senate District 35): The Florida candidate at any level who has best incorporated the Netroots into her/his campaign and done the best job of treating Netroots activists as valid constituents and not just another group of people to exploit.

12. Netroots Activist of the Year (Last year: Alison Berke Morano): The individual who has done the most to advance the goals and activities of the progressive Netroots in the state of Florida.

13. Netroots Organization of the Year (Last year: Florida Netroots): The organization that has done the most to advance the goals and activities of the progressive Netroots in the state of Florida.

14. Best New Blogger (Last year: Dan Gelber): This one should go to the best blogger who has been blogging about Florida politics for no more than a year and a half.

15. Best Online Campaign (Last year: Say No 2): This is an award for the best use of the web and related technologies to achieve some kind of goal, such as fundraising, fighting legislation or other activism.

16. Best Use of Twitter (Last year: New category): Any Floridian who uses Twitter and whose posts incorporate the following qualities: good use of the language, original reporting, a good sense of humor, creativity, a strong personal touch and an effect on the real world because of their writing.

17. Best Overall Use of Social Media (Last year: New category): The best use of the various social media sites (Twitter, Facebook and other similar sites) in accomplishing political goals.

18. Best Post (Last year: It’s Not Called the Hate Amendment for Nothing by Kenneth Quinnell at FLA Politics): The best-written post since last year’s awards.

19. Best Ongoing Series (Last year: Stories to Read, Florida Progressive Coalition): The best regular feature that incorporates at least five posts since last year’s awards.

20. Best Online Radio Show (Last year: The Big Show with Alison Berke Morano and Kenneth Quinnell): The best progressive/liberal/Democratic radio show that is aired solely online and does not air on traditional radio.

21. Florida Progressive Coalition Progressive Hall of Fame (Last year: Alison Berke Morano, Susan Smith, Joe Garcia): FPC is sponsoring a virtual “Progressive Hall of Fame” that should be awarded as sort of a lifetime achievement award to a person or organization (amateur or professional) that has made a significant contribution towards making Florida a bluer, more progressive state. This award may have more than one recipient.


Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including,,, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. SaintPetersBlog has for three years running been ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.

Latest from Statewide

Go to Top