Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Former Tampa Bay coach Tony Dungy added to Hall of Fame

in Sports/Top Headlines by

Former Tampa Bay Bucs coach Tony Dungy was elected to the Pro  Football Hall of Fame Saturday night.

Dungy, 60, won 54 games in six seasons with the Bucs and reached the playoffs in four of his six seasons at the helm. Two of his Bucs’ players, Derrick Brooks and Warren Sapp, are already in the Hall.

Dungy won one Super Bowl, in 2007 with the Colts. The Bucs’ Super Bowl came under coach Jon Gruden the season after the team fire Dungy. It has been a common argument through the years of which coach was more responsible for that title, Dungy or Gruden. For his part, Dungy has always said that it was Gruden’s team.

Also going into the Hall of Fame were former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo, who lives in Tampa; Green Bay quarterback Brett Favre; former Indianapolis receiver Marvin Harrison; former Raiders’ quarterback Ken Stabler; former Rams offensive tackle Orlando Pace; former Carolina linebacker Kevin Greene; and former Lions’ guard Dick Stanfel.

Dungy moved to the Indianapolis Colts in 2002 and coached for seven more seasons.

“Congratulations to Tony Dungy on his very well-deserved selection into the Pro Football Hall of Fame,” said Buccaneers co-chairman Bryan Glazer. “We are thankful to Tony for all that he did to establish a winning culture during his time with us and his valuable contributions to the Tampa Bay community.  We look forward to celebrating his induction later this year.”

Under Dungy’s guidance, the Buccaneers defense flourished, finishing in the top 10 from 1997-2001, including three straight top five finishes (1997-99). Dungy’s defenses also were in the top 10 in fewest points allowed, every season he coached the Buccaneers. During the span of his six seasons as the team’s head coach, the Buccaneers allowed the fewest yards per game and points per game in the NFL.

Dungy also helped many Buccaneers record individual success, highlighted by  Sapp’s 1999 NFL Defensive Player of the Year award. Under Dungy, 14 different Buccaneers players made it to the Pro Bowl, totaling 39 appearances. Dungy also helped seven Tampa Bay players earn All-Pro Honors, totaling 22 selections.

Another former Buc, John Lynch, failed to be elected to the Hall once again.

Gary Shelton is one of the most recognized and honored sportswriters in the history of the state. He has won the APSE's national columnist of the year twice and finished in the top 10 eight times. He was named the Florida Sportswriter of the Year six times. Gary joined SaintPetersBlog in the spring, helping to bring a sports presence to the website. Over his time in sports writing, Gary has covered 29 Super Bowls, 10 Olympics, Final Fours, Masters, Wimbledons and college national championships. He was there when the Bucs won a Super Bowl, when the Lightning won a Stanley Cup and when the Rays went to a World Series. He has seen Florida, FSU and Miami all win national championships, and he covered Bear Bryant, Bobby Bowden and Don Shula along the way. He and his wife Janet have four children: Eric, Kevin, K.C. and Tori. To contact, visit

Latest from Sports

Go to Top