Read here without downloading: House committee assignments for 2015-16

in Uncategorized by

House Speaker Steve Crisafulli continues to put his team in place for the 2015 Legislative Session. Last month it was announced that Rep. Richard Corcoran will chair the Appropriations Committee and today Crisafulli announced the names of the other chairs and committee assignments who he said brings “fresh ideas and common-sense solutions to government.”

“Our committee and subcommittee chairs will lead the House with a strong focus on jobs and our economy,” Crisafulli said in a prepared statement. “Our state is in recovery and whether it is through education, healthcare, the environment or public safety, a strong Florida means better jobs and a better environment for our citizens to prosper.”

Crisafulli made a few changes to the committee structure; there’s a new Local Government Affairs Committee. What was Healthy Families appears to be now Children, Families & Seniors and what was Transportation and Highway Safety is now Highway and Water Safety. Ports has been added to the name of another transportation committee.

The list of committees and members assigned can be read below.

 The list of committees and members assigned can be found here.  Here are the chairs and vice-chairs.

  • Appropriations: chair Richard Corcoran, vice-chair Jim Boyd
  • Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations: chair Ben Albritton, vice-chair Ray Pilon
  • Agriculture & Natural Resources Subcommittee: chair Tom Goodson, vice-chair Jake Raburn
  • Business & Professions: chair Halsey Beshears, vice-chair Larry Ahern
  • Children, Families & Seniors: chair Gayle Harrell, vice-chair Kathleen Peters
  • Choice & Innovation: chair Manny Diaz, Jr; vice-chair Charlie Stone
  • Civil Justice: chair Kathleen Passidomo, vice-chair Walter Hill
  • Criminal Justice: chair Carlos Trujillo, vice-chair Charles Van Zant
  • Education Appropriations: chair, Erik Fresen, vice-chair Marlene O’Toole
  • Education: chair H. Marlene O’Toole, vice-chair W. Keith Perry
  • Economic Affairs: chair Jose Oliva, vice-chair MaryLynn Magar
  • Economic Development & Tourism: chair Frank Artiles, vice-chair Mike La Rosa
  • Energy & Utilities: chair Dane Eagle, vice-chair Halsey Beshears
  • Finance & Tax: chair Matt Gaetz, vice-chair Ray Rodrigues
  • Government Operations: chair Jeanette Nunez, vice-chair Charles Van Zant
  • Government Operations Subcommittee: chair Michael Bileca, vice-chair David Santiago
  • Health Care Appropriations: chair Matt Hudson, vice-chair W. Travis Cummings
  • Highway & Waterway Safety: chair W. Gregory Steube, vice-chair Holly Raschein
  • Higher Education & Workforce: chair Elizabeth Porter, vice-chair Jake Raburn
  • Health Innovation: chair Kenneth Roberson, vice-chair Doug Broxson
  • Health Quality: chair Cary Pigman, vice-chair W. Gregory Steube
  • Health & Human Services: chair Jason Brodeur, vice-chair Ronald Renuart
  • Insurance & Banking: chair John Wood, vice-chair Bill Hager
  • Justice Appropriations: chair Larry Metz, vice-chair Ross Spano
  • Joint Administrative Procedures: chair W. Travis Cummings
  • Joint Committee on Public Counsel Oversight: chair Bill Hager
  • Joint Legislative Auditing: chair Daniel Raulerson
  • Joint Legislative Budget Commission: chair Richard Corcoran
  • Judiciary: chair Charles McBurney, vice-chair Kathleen Passidomo
  • K -12 Subcommittee: chair Janet Adkins, vice-chair Ross Spano
  • Local & Federal Affairs: chair Dennis Baxley, vice-chair Debbie Mayfield.
  • Local Government Affairs: chair Debbie Mayfield, vice-chair George Moraitis, Jr.
  • Regulatory Affairs: chair Jose Diaz, vice-chair Mike La Rosa
  • Rules, Calendar & Ethics: chair Ritch Workman, vice-chair Eric Eisnaugle
  • Rulemaking, Oversight & Repeal: chair Lake Ray, vice-chair Dane Eagle
  • State Affairs: chair Matthew Caldwell, vice-chair Neil Combee
  • Select Committee Collective Bargaining: chair Charles Van Zant
  • Transportation & Ports: chair Patrick Rooney, Jr. vice-chair David Santiago
  • Transportation & Economic Develop: chair Clay Ingram, vice-chair George Moraitis, Jr
  • Veterans & Military Affairs: chair Jimmie Smith, vice-chair Daniel Raulerson

[scribd id=249552693 key=key-iXWbySxqcRHiqaV6z5Uf mode=scroll]



Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including,,, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. SaintPetersBlog has for three years running been ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.