Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

The Purge List: A (partial) listing of Charlie Crist supporters who will be impacted by enforcement of GOP Loyalty Oath

in Statewide by

In a memo to the party’s executive director obtained by POLITICO, general counsel Jason Gonzalez said the RPOF’s loyalty oath would require members of state and county GOP committees to withdraw their support for a candidate who split from the party.

“At the heart of the Party Loyalty Oath is the requirement that members of the Republican Party of Florida’s Executive Committees – from precinct committeemen and committeewomen in each county all the way up to the national committeeman and committeewoman – cannot provide their active, public, or financial support to any candidate other than ‘the Republican candidate’ in a general election,” Gonzalez wrote.

He concluded: “Any member who fails to formally revoke his or her public support and request the return of any contributions made to a candidate running against the candidate of the Republican Party would be in violation of the RPOF Rules and would be subject to removal from party office and membership on Republican executive committees.”

Here is a partial list of who I think will be directly impacted by the RPOF’s effort to enforce its Loyalty Oath if Charlie Crist does, in fact, decide to run as an Independent.  These are all publicly committed supporters of Charlie Crist’s campaign who, as elected officials or RPOF state committee members or county executive committee members, have signed the Loyalty Oath (any additions or deletions, e-mail me at [email protected]):

Paul Bedinghaus – Member of the Pinellas County Republican Executive Committee

Jerry Braley – State Committeeman for Orange County

Senator Lee Constantine

John Falconetti – Member of the Duval County Republican Executive Committee

Senator Mike Fasano

Senator Rudy Garcia

Scott Glover – Member of the Republican Party of Florida State Executive Committee

Lonnie Hawkins – Member of the Santa Rosa Republican Executive Committee

Beth Kigel – Member of the Republican Party of Florida Executive Board

Representative Jimmy Patronis

Senator Durrell Peaden

Ed Pozzouli – Member of the Broward County Republican Executive Committee

Becky Reichenberg – State Committeewoman for St. Johns County

Eric Robinson – Member of the Sarasota County Republican Executive Committee

Paul Senft – National Committeeman for the Republican Party of Florida

Jim Stelling – Member of the Seminole County Republican Executive Committee

Gina Stuart – State Committeewoman for Jackson County

Greg Truax – Member of the Republican Party of Florida State Executive Committee,

Representative Juan Zapata

Peter Schorsch is the President of Extensive Enterprises and is the publisher of some of Florida’s most influential new media websites, including,,, and Sunburn, the morning read of what’s hot in Florida politics. SaintPetersBlog has for three years running been ranked by the Washington Post as the best state-based blog in Florida. In addition to his publishing efforts, Peter is a political consultant to several of the state’s largest governmental affairs and public relations firms. Peter lives in St. Petersburg with his wife, Michelle, and their daughter, Ella.

Latest from Statewide

Go to Top