Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Over the years, FSU has had great defensive players on the field, too

in Sports/Top Headlines by

FSU isn’t just about offense.

Yes, the school has brought us Charlie Ward and Warrick Dunn and Ron Sellers, Peter Warrick and Chris Weinke and Dalvin Cook. But when it comes time to stopping the other team, the Seminoles have been excellent, too. You could build an argument that a Mount Rushmore of defensive players would be even more impressive than an offensive one.

Here in the Defenders week at the St. PetersBlog, we pose the question. Who are the best 10 defensive players in FSU history?

10. Corey Simon, DT (1996-1999): Simon was the inspirational leader of the undefeated national champions. He was the sixth overall pick of the Philadelphia Eagles.

9. Peter Boulware, DE: (1993-1996): Boulware holds the season sack mark for the Seminoles with 19. ACC defensive player of the year in 1996.

8. Terrell Buckley, DB: (1989-1991): Held the record for FSU interceptions and won the Jim Thorpe award. Eighth in the Heisman voting, and the fifth overall pick of the Packers.

7. Pat McGowan, LB (1985-1987): Won the Butkus Award as a senior. He had 150 tackles. He went on to play in the World League, the Canadian and the Arena League, but remains the only Butkus winner never to play in the NFL. A fine college player, though.

6. Leroy Butler, DB (1987-1989): Butler was solid at FSU before his long career with the Packers. Led the nation in interception return yardage as a senior. Six-time Pro Bowler.

5. Marvin Jones, LB (1990-1992): In 1992, he won both the Butkus and Lombardi awards for FSU. Was the fourth overall pick of the New York Jets.

4. Jalen Ramsey, DB (2012-2015): Ramsey is just getting his NFL career started, but he was a beast in college. He was second and ninth in passes defensed his last two years. He was picked fifth by Jacksonville.

3. Ron Simmons, DT (1977-1980): A two-time All-American who finished ninth in the Heisman Trophy voting in 1979.

2. Derrick Brooks, LB (1991-1994): A two-time All-American who was a No. 1 draft pick of the Tampa Bay Bucs. Reached the Hall of Fame with Tampa Bay.

1. Deion Sanders, DB (1985-1988): Sanders was a two-time All-American who was eighth in the Heisman in 1988. A No. 1 draft pick by Atlanta who is in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Gary Shelton is one of the most recognized and honored sportswriters in the history of the state. He has won the APSE's national columnist of the year twice and finished in the top 10 eight times. He was named the Florida Sportswriter of the Year six times. Gary joined SaintPetersBlog in the spring, helping to bring a sports presence to the website. Over his time in sports writing, Gary has covered 29 Super Bowls, 10 Olympics, Final Fours, Masters, Wimbledons and college national championships. He was there when the Bucs won a Super Bowl, when the Lightning won a Stanley Cup and when the Rays went to a World Series. He has seen Florida, FSU and Miami all win national championships, and he covered Bear Bryant, Bobby Bowden and Don Shula along the way. He and his wife Janet have four children: Eric, Kevin, K.C. and Tori. To contact, visit

Latest from Sports

Go to Top