Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Voters elect seven to Hall of Fame, but not the Bucs’ Lynch

in Sports/Top Headlines by

Former Tampa Bay Buc great John Lynch is still short of immortality.

The NFL announced its new Hall of Fame class Saturday night, and Lynch was not among them.

LaDainian Tomlinson was named to the Hall. Kurt Warner, Terrell Davis, Kenny Easley, Jason Taylor, Morten Andersen and Cowboys’ owner Jerry Jones also were elected.

Easley, the senior candidate, was a rare safety named to the Hall. Lynch and Brian Dawkins were left out. Ed Reed becomes eligible in two years and Troy Palumalo in three.

Gary Shelton is one of the most recognized and honored sportswriters in the history of the state. He has won the APSE's national columnist of the year twice and finished in the top 10 eight times. He was named the Florida Sportswriter of the Year six times. Gary joined SaintPetersBlog in the spring, helping to bring a sports presence to the website. Over his time in sports writing, Gary has covered 29 Super Bowls, 10 Olympics, Final Fours, Masters, Wimbledons and college national championships. He was there when the Bucs won a Super Bowl, when the Lightning won a Stanley Cup and when the Rays went to a World Series. He has seen Florida, FSU and Miami all win national championships, and he covered Bear Bryant, Bobby Bowden and Don Shula along the way. He and his wife Janet have four children: Eric, Kevin, K.C. and Tori. To contact, visit

Latest from Sports

Go to Top