Life and politics from the Sunshine State's best city

Tampa General Hospital

Tampa General’s Jim Burkhart takes over as FHA chair

in The Bay and the 'Burg/Top Headlines by

Jim Burkhart, president and CEO of Tampa General Hospital, has been elected chairman of the Florida Hospital Association‘s board of trustees.

The selection took place Thursday at the association’s annual meeting in Orlando.

Burkhart succeeds Mark Faulkner, president and CEO of Baptist Health Care Pensacola.

“It is a privilege to chair the association on behalf of more than 200 Florida hospitals and health systems,” Burkhart said in a statement. “In the year ahead, we will continue to focus on clinical performance improvement and policies intended to foster better care, better health, and lower costs.”

New and returning board members are:

Executive Officers
Chairman: Jim Burkhart, President/CEO, Tampa General Hospital
Vice Chair/Chairman-Elect: John A. Kolosky, COO, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center
Treasurer: Roger L. Kirk, President/CEO, Bethesda Health
Secretary: Bruce Rueben, President, Florida Hospital Association
Immediate Past Chairman: Mark Faulkner, President/CEO, Baptist Health Care

Newly Elected Trustees
Dana Bledsoe, President, Nemours Children’s Hospital
Tommy Inzina, President/CEO, BayCare Health System
Rob Lord Jr., President/CEO, Martin Health
G. Mark O’Bryant, President/CEO, Tallahassee Memorial Healthcare
Tom VanOsdol, COO, St. Vincent’s HealthCare
David Strong, President/CEO, Orlando Health
Jeff Susi, President/CEO, Indian River Medical Center

Returning Trustees
Kevin Conn, Regional Vice President of Operations, HealthSouth Sunrise Rehabilitation Hospital
Susan Davis, President/CEO, Sacred Heart Health System
Jeff Feasel, President and CEO, Halifax Health
Aurelio Fernandez, President/CEO, Memorial Healthcare System
Hugh Greene, President/CEO, Baptist Health
Don Henderson, President/CEO, Central Florida Health
Larry Meese, CEO, Jackson Hospital
Lars Houmann, President/CEO, Adventist Health System – Florida Division
Edward Jimenez, CEO, University of Florida Health
Stephen P. Johnson, President/CEO, Health First
Brian Keeley, President/CEO, Baptist Health South Florida
Jim Nathan, President/CEO, Lee Health
Mike Schultz, President/CEO, West Florida Division of Florida Hospital
Elaine Thompson, Ph.D., President/CEO, Lakeland Regional Health
David Verinder, President/CEO, Sarasota Memorial Health Care System
Allen Weiss, M.D., President/CEO, NCH Healthcare System

Before joining Florida Politics, journalist and attorney James Rosica was state government reporter for The Tampa Tribune. He attended journalism school in Washington, D.C., working at dailies and weekly papers in Philadelphia after graduation. Rosica joined the Tallahassee Democrat in 1997, later moving to the courts beat, where he reported on the 2000 presidential recount. In 2005, Rosica left journalism to attend law school in Philadelphia, afterwards working part time for a public-interest law firm. Returning to writing, he covered three legislative sessions in Tallahassee for The Associated Press, before joining the Tribune’s re-opened Tallahassee bureau in 2013. He can be reached at [email protected]

Latest from The Bay and the 'Burg

Go to Top